Walker #1

Walker Art CenterWalker Art Center
June 3, 2010

The Walker Art Center is omnipresent in my neighborhood.  While the folks at the museum have a great attitude and really get the community involved in their goings-on– I do have my complaints about this museum.  Mainly: its not really a museum, but more of a performance space or gallery space.  Their permanent collection is usually off view save a few highlights.  I visited them this past Thursday night and I enjoyed my time there much more than I had in the past– but the museum doesn’t allow photos anywhere inside the building.  This really annoys me.

The Walker should loosen up and allow amateur photographers to capture some of the weirdness inside the galleries.  The Walker as an institution has supported many a crazy act in the name of art– its strange that they’d be so restrictive of artists in their own midst.

But despite what’s going on inside the museum, the architecture of the outside is part of my daily commute.  This photo is straight off of the scanner– no color correcting at all.  I really like the appearance of the coarse grain over the texture of the Walker.  I’ve photographed the Walker before and I’m sure I’ll do it again, but this has been one of my favorites to date.

About letitunwind

Wanderer, photographer, art historian, librarian, collector, friend. I live in Minneapolis, Minnesota.
This entry was posted in Fuji Natura Classica, Minneapolis, Minnesota. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

