Back in Minnesota

Its Wednesday, and I’ve just returned with C from a fantastic trip.  Its been a few years since we took a proper vacation, and this one did not disappoint.  We went to Montreal, Quebec, Canada and spent a week in bed & breakfasts in le Village.

Montreal is a lot like Minneapolis in that it can have very harsh winters, so the town seems to take full advantage of the summer months.  The difference seems to be that in Minneapolis people bike and run and do healthy things but in Montreal people do a lot of drinking and smoking pot outside.  There were countless outdoor events going on for the weekend that we were there, and I feel like we really got to see the local summer way of life.

While Montreal is only a few hours drive from the United States, it felt worlds away.  First and foremost, everyone speaks French.  I speak a little French, but I immediately realized how much I’ve forgotten when I tried to understand the Quebecois.  People say that Montreal is like Europe in North America– I’d say this is completely false.  While it certainly has more European qualities than any other place I’ve visited in North America, it really has a culture all its own.  Saying its just like Europe is truly selling it short.  I’d maybe compare it to a San Francisco of the Northeast.  That speaks French.  And loves meat.

I’m in the process of scanning all my negatives as we speak, so I’ll be able to share some photos very soon.

About letitunwind

Wanderer, photographer, art historian, librarian, collector, friend. I live in Minneapolis, Minnesota.
This entry was posted in Montreal, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

