ING Building

Designed in 1964 by Minoru Yamasaki, the ING Building (originally called the Reliastar Building) certainly stands out in downtown Minneapolis.  Yamasaki is famous for his design of the World Trade Center towers, but his list of buildings is quite impressive.  One thing I never realized is that Yamasaki also designed one of my favorite places in San Francisco– the Japan Center, also called “Japantown” by tourists.

I’ve always been interested in the midcentury architectural movement referred to as “New Formalism.”  Here in the midwest, we see countless examples of this style, both good and bad, left over from the 1960s and 1970s.  Let’s be honest– many of the examples that are left over are bad, or at the very least have been poorly taken care of.  But every once in a while, you see that New Formalist structure that still moves you.  I think the ING Building is one of those structures.

I’ve been trying to capture this building for a long time, but its scale and its location on a busy street corner in downtown Minneapolis have made it difficult.  Armed with my Holga and a fresh roll of Chinese LUCKY 100 film, I brought back a few good images.

ING

ING

Leaky ING

For you Holga users out there, be advised that the backing paper on Lucky 100 film is very thick.  Because of this, it seems to have put added pressure on the film and my whole roll was scratched by the plastic.  Really a bummer, but because of the leaky, atmospheric quality of these shots, I don’t think it detracts too much from the image.

I think you’ll see the ING building pop up in my photos again.  I don’t think I’ve gotten the perfect shot just yet.

About letitunwind

Wanderer, photographer, art historian, librarian, collector, friend. I live in Minneapolis, Minnesota.
This entry was posted in Holga, Minneapolis, Minnesota. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to ING Building

  1. Very nice shots –

    I’ve photographed this building a few times and have found their security guards seem to be a little over-protective of this building for some reason – asking me not to take shots of the building – however I reminded them I was on a public sidewalk so they could not really control what I did.

    Hopefull you didn’t have the same problem.

  2. Don says:

    Has always been one of my top favorite buildings in Minneapolis!

  3. jane says:

    Nice photos!

Leave a Reply

