Sky Flyer

Sky Rider
Sky Rider – 2009
Sabre 620, Kodak 160VC

From the Minnesota State Fair in 2009, this has always been one my my most popular images on Flickr.  I’ll admit, its got a lot going for it.  It was taken with a ridiculously cute Sabre 620 camera.  Its of a carnival ride at the most beloved Minnesota event of the summer.  It has that “retro” feel to it.

But for me, I’ve always been hesitant to put this photo front and center.  I mean, its pretty common knowledge that EVERY photographer that uses toy cams has taken similar shots of ferris wheels and carnival rides at some point.  This is the only one I’ve seen of a “Sky Flyer,” but for me it still seems like an “art school” type shot.

And yet, when I show it… people love it.  I know that when I start selling some of my prints, this one will definitely be in the mix.  I think its a good illustration of how people often love different images than you, the photographer, love.

That being said, I’m headed back to the fair this year and I’m going to take plenty more shots of fair things, that’s for sure!

About letitunwind

Wanderer, photographer, art historian, librarian, collector, friend. I live in Minneapolis, Minnesota.
This entry was posted in Minnesota, Sabre 620, St. Paul. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sky Flyer

  1. heather says:

    I do love this shot! 🙂 Can’t wait to see what you shoot this year though (oh and can you send some fair food my way too?)!

Leave a Reply

